Street Kings

Starring:
Keanu Reeves
Forest Whitaker
Hugh Laurie

Directed By:
David Ayer

Plot:
(According to Wikipedia – I couldnt follow it to save my life)

Tom Ludlow (Keanu Reeves) is a disillusioned L.A. Police Officer, rarely playing by the rules and haunted by the death of his wife. All of the cops in Ludlow’s unit, including their captain, Jack Wander (Forest Whitaker), bend and break the rules of conduct on a regular basis. Their intention is often to deal with crime in a manner that they perceive to be more efficient, which leads them to routinely lie, falsify reports and manipulate evidence to cover up for their wrong-doings.

My Take:
I’m only writing about this movie because I’m trying to get in the habit of writing all this stuff down. Trying to make sure that I keep my thoughts on these things. Well – I couldn’t follow the plot at all. I was slightly to fully intoxicated and it made it hard to follow all the ups, downs, loops, crossovers, turns, and backtracks of this film. I know Keanu (my heart) was some sort of sad police officer who is in the wrong place at the wrong time/being set up. He has a ex-partner who is trying to rat on him to the cops who is murdered while he is spared leading him to know it was an inside job. I find it amazing that he regularly does single man missions into rooms full of people with guns and comes out the last one standing….I dont know…I can normally forgive Keanu but this one was bad. It basically assumed that the action and shooting/blood (which was surprisingly tastefully graphic) would distract from the completely baffling plot. I give this no stars. I award them no money. Hiss Mr. Reeves. Hiss at you.

 

“Do the department a favor and wash your mouth out with Buckshot.”

~ by Mathy Shoots People on September 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
