You thought YOU had a bad mother?

Shelley Price has an 11 year old daughter named Katherine. She also has a 2 year old daughter named Poppy. Shelley admits to the world in an interview published online that she feels no love for her daughter Catherine. This woman launches in to a ridiculously long and in depth article about how she’s never been able to even LIKE her daughter.

‘But when the midwives put Catherine into my arms, I felt nothing at all,’ says Shelley. ‘She didn’t feel like my own flesh and blood. She felt dirty. I know I shouldn’t have cared. Like all newborns, she wasn’t all pink and peachy. ‘But I did not want to touch her. I didn’t even want to look at her. I asked the nurse to take her away and clean her. I know it sounds awful, but I just wanted to have a shower and forget all about it. ‘It was obvious that something wasn’t right from the start. That first night, I sat there emotionless from 10pm until 7am with Catherine in my arms, waiting for this love to hit me but it never happened.

I know “blah blah blah, oh she’s so strong for stepping forward, blah blah blah” but you know what gets me? If you read the entire article you can see that this woman clearly has NEVER even considered her daughters feelings in all this. She made her call her Shelley from an early age, she would pawn her off on her mother if the daughter wasn’t being perfect, and she rarely held or cuddled her daughter. The whole thing really makes me rather sick.

They discuss how she obviously had Post Natal Depression but she just never received treatment for it and therefore was never able to overcome the blocked feelings of happiness and love that one would normally feel for their own child. I get that, I feel for Shelley in that aspect but this woman has no concern for this child at all and it shows in giving a tasteless interview to some Internet news source.

The kicker for me was this part –

‘I don’t remember any of the landmarks, such as when she said her first words or got her first tooth, even though I can recall all those stages for Poppy without thinking. I can’t think of a single moment in Catherine’s life that has made me feel like a proud mother.’

This woman should be burned. If not for that statement alone then for the fact that at the source there is a picture of her with Catherine (which I refuse to post) – talk about public mockery. I’m sure she wont grow up and kill you in your sleep you heartless, horrible woman. I know I’m not ready for motherhood so I’m safe and I’m responsible. Shelley didn’t think she could get pregnant so she wasn’t. Don’t make a child suffer for your mistakes and inadequacies. There is always a happy, loving couple in the world that would give anything to praise and love a child no matter their age – there is no excuse why she never gave her up for adoption if she disliked her so much. At least that trauma would be better than public humiliation and knowing at 11 that your mother never loved you, never thinks she will and is able to love another child instead. Can you imagine the mind fuck that has to be for Catherine?

Source.

~ by Mathy Shoots People on January 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
