Jim Carrey is wise.

phillipmorris

Jim Carrey has a new film out called I Love You Phillip Morris. It has received great reviews and he recently talked candidly about his own internalized homophobia and his decisions to take the role, as well as his feelings and thoughts about having a sexual on screen relationship with Ewan McGregor:

“If I were to be really honest, there was a homophobic voice that rose up inside me that said, ‘Gee, this is kind of scary. First of all, what will people think, and second of all, will I like it? Will I like kissing Ewan? How will that affect me? There were a few people in my world who said, ‘Are you sure you want to do this?’ And that still exists. I said ‘Absolutely’ because, sexual preference aside, it is a story that is so compelling and interesting and different. It’s about humanity. It is about you love who you love. And love is love. And that’s it….”

When discussing their onscreen kisses : “Ewan was a bit prickly. I think we have some great sexual chemistry on screen. I think there is definitely a lot of smoldering,’yum, yum, eat-him-up’ vibe.”

When asked, “What are you doing for the gay community?” Carrey replied: “That was a tough one. Here’s a movie about love and tolerance. And that’s something. And I just see it as an internal job. I think people are changing internally. So we all learn to love ourselves, we will love each other. We are a bunch of mirrors out there. If something bothers me about this guy in the front row, it’s me.”

His quote about hate/acceptance being internal is so very true. A lot of what we blindly hate in others we see in ourselves. Well crap – you’ve seen how hateful I am so you can only imagine how much I hate myself 🙂

Well said hot stuff.
Via Towerload

~ by Mathy Shoots People on January 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
