Margret Cho and Religion Smeligion.

It’s only 8:30 but I’ve been inspired. So I’ll tell you like it is – I don’t talk about religion. I don’t normally offer more than “I’m agnostic” and I leave it at that…but I’m starting to get pissed. My life has a lot of white and a lot of black areas but this is a grey one that I just cant keep being quiet about.

Disclaimer – I will use “God” a lot. I don’t acknowledge him as the only deity out there but I was raised Christian so I tend to put his name on all things omnipresent.

I know religion started as a way to put a sense of wrong and right into the masses. It was used to control people. The easiest way to manipulate public opinion? Tell them its what God would want. You want cleaner peasants? Tell them thou must bathe on Sunday per Jesus. You want to cut down on theft? Tell the city that God said it was wrong and you will be punished in the afterlife. You want to punish people for being different? Tell everyone that God sees it one way and one way only and if you don’t fit his box of perfect, its like you’re slapping him in the face. I think that organized religion is bred out of fear, ignorance and curiosity to explain things that they (at the time) had no science to explain. The truth is – things change: our morals, our wants, our needs, our expectations – everything changes – how can we still follow books that were written thousands of years ago by men who drank wine all day and who had no clue the world was round?!?

Organized religion itself is overrated. My belief? The relationship you have with God, Buddha, your dog skip, Zeus, or who the fuck ever that you want to pray to…that is your business. Screw the guy who said we have to pray in groups, that we have to come together to prove we appreciate god.  Why should I have to wake up at 6 am to shuffle into a church to prove I believe that Jesus is my savior? Why? When half the priests are molesting little kids, and half the congregation has sinned the night before and is just trying for some sick day-after-atonement? Maybe I see it a bit differently, that I don’t have to kiss my deity’s ass every 5 seconds. I believe whole heartedly that this is OK. MY deity will forgive me for everything, with or without me asking. My deity will accept me as the perfectly unperfect human that he created. He gave us this beautiful ability to think for ourselves, he gave us the power of free will, of free thought…why would we then in turn be punished for using what was given to us!? I’m not afraid to say this and I’m not afraid to get angry over stupid mobs in large groups who attack other people for just living their lives as they were given the free will to do. I say this unapologetically to you and to whatever is out there – at the risk of burning in hell for all of eternity.

My biggest qualm with religion is the absolute hatred and hypocrisy that comes out of it. Something that is supposed to spread love and peace now only represents fighting, war and the inability to see that we are all in this together, not against each other. At least, we shouldn’t be.

Oh well – on to Margret. It’s vulgar but she speaks the truth. Cho Blog.

First of all – you fucking fake Christians – don’t fucking question my Christianity….God is my biggest fan. God gets me, dude.

God wants us all to just get along. He doesn’t give a shit about the profanity. The bitch fucking invented profanity. He thinks it is hilarious. He just wants you to talk to him, and he doesn’t care what you have to say. He just wants to keep the conversation going. Like Jay-Z, he just wants to love you. He just wants you to be able to make your own decisions. God is all about you and what you need. God is happy that you are gay. God made you fucking gay cuz he thinks it is awesome. God understands if you need to have an abortion. That is why he created abortion, on the 8th day. God accepts. God forgives. God loves all of us, even though some of us might have a problem with each other.

Don’t fucking question my Christianity you fucking idiot assholes. If you continue to have a problem, then talk to God about it, not me, you fucking racist homophobic misogynist fake Christian shitheads. God thinks it is funny that I swear so much. He said I could use his name in vain or whatever. He just wants me to use it. He loves me. So fuck you. And I guess he loves you too. Even though you are fake Christian assholes. If you were truly Christians, you would let gays get married, and send them fucking presents from Bed Bath and Beyond!

If you truly believed in Jesus, you would try to be like him and love us, fags and dykes and feminists all. God bless you, even you. You fucking fuckers.”

Amen.

~ by Mathy Shoots People on September 18, 2008.

Leave a comment